Countdown to freshers!

September 14, 2012

So it’s 2 days until Freshers starts officially. I know it’s my third year and I should be more focused on my work but this is the last chance I will get until I finish, if not later for me to truly let go and not have too much to worry about so I plan to enjoy it!

Like any other student I have my litre vodka bottle at the ready, 5 packets of paracetamol (not just for freshers but it’ll be needed) and a 12 pack of bacon to get me through the hangovers. Seeing as this is my last freshers, I’ll be one of the oldies and I’m pretty sure I’ll get into the clubs and find that I’m one of those oldest there but hey!

My first freshers week was pretty wild and will be one of the most memorable (and forgotten due to the alcohol)  times of my University life and the second year even more so. Broken feet, meeting strangers, walking through Uni and random people coming up to you who recognise you from the night before and the majority of the time you have no idea who they are; are all parts of becoming a student which will occur to every person by the end of the term! Don’t be surprised if, by the end of Freshers week you are known in the kebab shop next to your halls even if you only ever order cheesy chips!

In the run up to Freshers, while the students start returning people start to go out. Now I don’t work in a student pub but some students came in last night. I lost a bet with one of the lads who everybody else backed up as the ‘worst’ at pool; if he won he got my number, if he lost he would get me a drink. Didn’t seem like the worst bet in the world, after all I am ready for something new in my life. So after a very, very long game of pool I lost, he won and got my number. Unfortunately it turns out this guy is very clingy, I’ve met him maybe twice in my life and now he is obsessively calling and texting me. All I can say is that I’m so glad that he can’t see my reactions to what I’ve read! I really hope this isn’t a sign for things to come in freshers…

Leave a comment